Wilson and Richardson among match officials for global showpiece

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates, CMC – Trinidad & Tobago referee Joel Wilson and former West Indies captain turned match referee Sir Richie Richardson are the only two match officials from the Caribbean to have qualified for the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup in June.

The International Cricket Council (ICC), the sport’s world governing body, has announced 26 match officials comprising 20 umpires and six match referees for the first round of the tournament which will take place in the Caribbean and the United States of America.

Longtime international umpire panelists such as Guyana’s Nigel Duguid, as well as Barbadian duo Gregory Brathwaite and Leslie Reifer Jr, and veteran match referee Reon King, a former Guyana and West Indies pacer, have not found favor.

Instead, the ICC said India’s Jayaraman Madanagopal, Australia’s Sam Nogajski, South Africa’s Allahudien Paleker and Pakistani duo Rashid Riaz and Asif Yaqoob will make their debuts in the senior event as referees.

“We are pleased to announce our team of match referees and umpires for the historic ICC Men’s T20 World Cup,” said ICC General Manager of Cricket Wasim Khan.

“Within the selected cohort, we are complimented by experienced match officials and other high-performing members who are recognized for their strong and consistent performances.”

He added: “The continuation of the pathway program will continue to see the development and emergence of high-quality match officials across the game.

“With 20 teams and 55 matches played over 28 days, this will be the biggest T20 World Cup ever and we are proud of the team we have put together. We are confident that our officers will perform strongly. We wish them the best of luck in what promises to be a very exciting tournament.”

Wilson’s colleagues for the tournament include Richard Illingworth, the winner of the 2023 David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire-of-the-Year at the annual ICC Awards, as well as former Sri Lanka spinner Kumar Dharmasena, the former Australian pacer Paul Reiffel, and Chris Gaffaney of New Zealand, who was named for the final of the 2022 edition of the tournament.

The list of match referees for the tournament is completed by former Australian batsman David Boon, former New Zealand captain Jeff Crowe, former Sri Lanka batsman Ranjan Madugalle, former Zimbabwe batsman Andy Pycroft and former India pacer Javagal Srinath .