Canelo Alvarez vs. Jaime Munguia full card results, boxing fight schedule 2024

It’s been more than 50 years since two Mexican fighters contested an undisputed championship, but that long wait comes to an end when Canelo Alvarez defends his super middleweight crown against Jaime Munguia at T-Mobile Arena on May 4.

The 12-round fight, plus undercard action, will be broadcast by Prime Video and DAZN.

Canelo (60-2-2, 39 KOs) consolidated all 168-pound titles between December 2020 and November 2021. The 33-year-old from Guadalajara scored convincing victories over three previously undefeated fighters: Callum Smith, Billy Joe Saunders and Caleb Plant. It was the first time since its creation in the mid-1980s that these divisions had been fully united.

WATCH: Canelo Alvarez vs. Jaime Munguia, live in the US on AMAZON PRIME

Munguia (43-0, 34 KOs) is relatively new to the super middleweight scene. Like Canelo, the Tijuana-born fighter made his mark in the lighter weight classes and enjoyed a stint as WBO super welterweight champion. Since that time, Munguia has risen through the middleweight ranks and established himself at super middleweight under the watchful eye of acclaimed trainer Freddie Roach.

The Sporting News will publish undercard results and a full report on the main event.

What time is the Canelo vs. Munguia fight today?

The PPV main card starts at 8:00 PM ET. Canelo and Munguia should head to the ring around 11:15 PM ET, depending on how long the undercard fights last.

Region Date Start time main card Main Event Ring Walks (approximately)
US and Canada (ET) Saturday May 4 8:00 PM ET 11:15 PM ET
US and Canada (PT) Saturday May 4 5pm PT 8:15 PM PT
Great Britain and Ireland Sunday May 5 1 hour BST 4:15am PT
Australia Sunday May 5 10am AEST 1:15pm AEST
India Sunday May 5 05:30 IST 08:45 IST

MORE: SN’s Top 12 Best Pound-for-Pound Boxers

How to watch Canelo vs. Munguia: TV channel, live stream

In the US, Canelo Alvarez vs. Jaime Munguia appearing on Amazon Prime Video PPV and DAZN.

Unlock a FREE month of DAZN with the purchase of Canelo vs. Munguia on pay-per-view. DAZN brings you more than 150 fights a year, documentaries and classic fights from the best archive in the world.

WATCH: Canelo Alvarez vs. Jaime Munguia, live in the US on AMAZON PRIME

While you need a DAZN subscription to buy the fight on DAZN, you don’t need an Amazon Prime subscription to buy the fight on Prime Video.

If Canelo vs. Munguia cannot be watched live at your location or if you are traveling abroad you can use a Virtual Private Network (VPN). VPNs provide a secure and private online connection, allowing you to bypass geo-restrictions and access your favorite streaming services from any device anywhere in the world.

LOOK EVERYWHERE: Sign up for NordVPN (30-day money back guarantee)


Canelo vs. Munguia PPV price: How much does fighting cost?

The fight is available on DAZN and Amazon Prime. DAZN requires a subscription to watch the fight, but you will receive a free month with the purchase of Canelo-Munguia.

You don’t need a Prime membership to buy the fight on Amazon.

  • PPV Prize: $89.99
  • Prime Video with Amazon Prime Membership: $14.99/month or $139.00/year
  • Prime Video: $8.99/month
  • DAZN monthly subscription: $19.99 with a 12 month contract or $24.99 month to month in the US / $24.99 per month in Canada / £9.99 in the UK with a 12 month contract or £19.99 month to month / AUD 13.99
  • DAZN annual subscription: $224.99 in the US, $199.99 in Canada, £99.99 in the UK. Check the DAZN website for subscription prices for India.

Canelo vs Munguia fight card

  • Canelo Alvarez (c) vs. Jaime Munguia for the IBF, WBA, WBC, WBO and Ring Magazine super middleweight titles
  • Mario Barrios (c) vs. Fabian Maidana for the interim WBC welterweight title
  • Brandon Figueroa (c) vs. Jessie Magdaleno for the interim WBC featherweight title
  • Eimantas Stanionis (c) vs. Gabriel Maestre for the WBA welterweight title