Shamar Joseph’s sensational debut earns him a spot in the West Indies T20 World Cup Squad

Shamar Joseph, the young pace sensation who made a remarkable debut for the West Indies in Test cricket earlier this year, has earned a place in the 15-man squad for the upcoming Twenty20 World Cup in the Caribbean and the United States.

Joseph, who stunned the cricket world with his performance against Australia, including a memorable debut wicket of Steve Smith with his first ball in Test cricket, has been recognized for his potential and included in the T20 squad despite having no previous international T20 experience.

Desmond Haynes, Director of West Indies Cricket, expressed confidence in Joseph’s ability and said: “The situation of someone like Shamar Joseph, you really can’t doubt someone like him, we’ve seen him in Australia. He checked the boxes for us.”


Has played just three first-class T20 matches

The 24-year-old pace bowler has played just three first-class T20 matches but has already made a significant impact in the world of cricket. His recent stint in the Indian Premier League showed his potential despite tough competition.

Notably absent from the squad is Sunil Narine, who was in excellent form in the IPL but announced his international retirement in 2023. Shimron Hetmyer returns to the side after missing the T20I series against Australia and showed impressive form in the IPL.

– Advertisement –

The side also boasts a host of big-hitting all-rounders including Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Jason Holder and Sherfane Rutherford, who add depth and firepower to the team’s batting line-up.

The bowling attack will be led by vice-captain Alzarri Joseph

In the absence of Oshane Thomas, the bowling attack will be led by vice-captain Alzarri Joseph, supported by newcomer Shamar Joseph. Akeal Hossain and Gudakesh Motie will lead the spin bowling department.

West Indies, two-time champions, are placed in Group C alongside Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda. They start their campaign on June 2 against Papua New Guinea in Guyana.

– Advertisement –

Selection: Rovman Powell (captain), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.